Loving coffee and being able to find your favorite blend at a coffee shop when you’re a vegan are two different things. Sometimes coffee shops can be almost impossible to navigate as a vegan, but Dutch Bros does an excellent job of having lots of options for plant-based eaters and drinkers.
The company’s bright blue kiosks started popping up everywhere in the 1990s and soon had an almost cult-like following. You can find Dutch Bros in several of the Western states, with lines that wind around the building with people waiting to order rebels, coffees, frosts, lattes, and sometimes just a regular old cup of joe.
In this article, we’ll go into whether Dutch Bros offers vegan drinks, what isn’t vegan, what is, and list any vegan drinks they offer.
Is Dutch Bros Vegan Friendly?
The answer to this question is yes, Dutch Bros is vegan friendly. It is possible to order a coffee with a non-dairy option, including soy, oat, almond, and coconut milk. You can also get vegan-friendly flavoring in some cases. Dutch Bros vegan drinks aren’t that plentiful themselves, but you’re sure to be able to find something you love and still stick to your vegan diet.
What’s Not Vegan at Dutch Bros?
This section will go into what isn’t vegan at Dutch Bros in the bullet list below.
- Dutch Chocolate blend
- Dairy milk
- Kick Me (half and half)
- All frost drinks
- Soft top
- Whipped cream
- White chocolate sauce
- Sugar-free white chocolate sauce
- English toffee syrup
- Almond Roca syrup
- Seasonal pumpkin sauce
- Caramel sauce
Even though there are quite a few items that aren’t vegan at Dutch Bros, there are a few drinks that are as well, so you should have no problems finding a Dutch Bros vegan drink to try. To help you out, here is a list of the best 4 Dutch Bros vegan drinks and how to order them because how you order these drinks is essential if you want them to be vegan.
Top 4 Dutch Bros Vegan Drinks:
When it comes to chai drinks at Dutch Bros, it can get a bit tricky. If you feel that honey is vegan, then you’ll be okay. If you feel like honey isn’t vegan, then you’ll want to stay away from chai drinks. If you’re good to go, then you need to try the Dirty Chai that Dutch Bros has on the menu.
The Dirty Chai has a couple of shots of espresso thrown in to boost your energy levels throughout the day. It’s plain, simple, and doesn’t have those super sweet sugary syrups. In fact, the Dirty Chai is sweet enough that you don’t need any extra flavorings that might make it not vegan. The espresso shots give it that added kick of caffeine, and who doesn’t need that after a long, hard day?
2. Iced Teas
As long as you avoid the chocolate, the Dutch Bros iced teas are a safe bet for vegans. Still, their teas tend to be too sweet for some, so it’s best to order them half sweet if you’re like we are. Two of our favorite Dutch Bros vegan iced teas are a plain, Pink Grapefruit Green Tea and a Ray of Sunshine, which is a blackberry, peach, and grapefruit mixture.
Who doesn’t love a good latte early in the morning, vegan style? Of course, it’ll have to be without the sauces, which include chocolate, caramel, and more. However, the latte will also be less sweet, and that’s a good thing for those who aren’t into super sweetness.
Some vegan favorites are:
- The Nutty Irishman, which features Irish cream and hazelnut
- The Almond and Cherry Amaretto
- The Islander, which is a mixture of vanilla, coconut, and chocolate macadamia nut, as long as it’s dairy-free
4. Mocha Drinks
Who doesn’t love mocha? Luckily, the chocolate sauce for mocha drinks is dairy-free. If you want your mocha drink to be extra creamy, then ask for coconut milk, as it’s the highest in fat of Dutch Bros alternative kinds of milk. A few of the best vegan mocha drinks are listed below. Which is your favorite?
- The Grasshopper, which features a mixture of crème de menthe and dark chocolate
- The Black Forest, a mixture of cherry and dark chocolate
- The Double Torture, which is a vanilla mocha with two extra shots of vanilla added
- The English Toffee Mocha, which is one of the best vegan options on the menu
How Do You Know Which Dutch Bros Drinks Are Vegan?
Besides following the menu above, figuring out which Dutch Bros drinks are vegan can be tricky. Your best bet is to get a barista who works at Dutch Bros and ask them for the low-down on the vegan drinks.
If you don’t know any of the baristas or can’t find one who is vegan, just make sure to stay away from all the rebel and freeze drinks, as none of those are vegan-friendly. Lattes, Americanos, and Cold Brews are okay, as long as you ask for non-dairy milk.
Also, the Oat Milk Kicker, which was released early in 2021, features creamy oat milk and espresso, which is vegan-friendly. You have the list of non-vegan-friendly items above, so you should be able to find things on the menu that you can purchase and enjoy.
Just remember to state that you’re looking for vegan-friendly options when you give your order to the barista for the best results.
These are just a few vegan-friendly drinks that you can find at Dutch Bros. We’re sure that they are working on more vegan-friendly options. Until then, just stay away from the rebels and the freezes, order non-dairy, and always make sure to tell your friendly barista that you’re vegan and want to place a dairy-free order.
Featured Image Credit: JASONBON, Pixabay
Table of Contents